Maybe I spoke too soon – more fungi

Sulphur Tuft and Moss

Sulphur Tuft and Moss

As soon as I wrote my last blog bemoaning the lack of fungi at the woods, we have had a lot of rain and the fungi are starting to emerge in some numbers.

Last weekend, I found a wonderful stump covered with tiny little fungi.  It looked like a tiny fairy city.  Other logs were showing the sulphur-tuft fungi usually seen during October.  And there are a few clouded agaric in the woods, as well as some massive jelly-ear fungi on rotting elder stems.

It seems I spoke too soon.  The fungi are fruiting at last!

Fungi Forest

Fungi Forest

Fungi and Oak Leaf

Fungi and Oak Leaf

Magic Mini-Forest

Magic Mini-Forest

Tiny Toadstools

Tiny Toadstools

More Tiny Fungi

More Tiny Fungi

Miniature Toadstool

Miniature Toadstool

2 thoughts on “Maybe I spoke too soon – more fungi

  1. Again, brilliant! The first photo is just magical! I have just signed up to become a wood warden with the Woodland Trust. I do hope I can find some of these wonderful fungi on my couple of woodland patches!

Leave a Reply

