Mirrorless

Coot at the local ponds - OMD EM-1 with 40-150 f2.8 Pro

Coot at the local ponds – OMD EM-1 with 40-150 f2.8 Pro

Don’t get me wrong – I love my full-frame Canon SLR, and for many applications, nothing can touch the quality. But…

The fact is that a big SLR weighs a lot, and the lenses even more. Lugging this lot around is often very impractical, particularly for somebody like me who has problems with my lungs. On good days, and over short distances, the big kit is fine, but on bad days or longer distances, there is a real need for a lightweight kit that can do a very good job.

I first encountered Olympus Micro Four Thirds (MFT) cameras on a photography workshop, when I was exceedingly impressed by the technical quality of the photos from a camera that a student brought with her. I’d tried the Canon mirrorless system, but found it a bit slow, and I have a smaller cropped-frame SLR which I loan out to students who are doing my photo workshops. It is nice, but still a bit large, and the problem remains that if you want good quality glass, it is still heavy.

So I recently decided to try Olympus MFT as a secondary system, attracted by the ability to use not just Olympus, but also Lumix and Leica lenses. Something that will get good results when I’m carrying it around, and which I can keep in my handbag for those opportunities that come along when you haven’t got the full kit. It can also replace the heavy kit on long walks and when my breathing is having a bad spell.

Having traded in some lenses I rarely use, I first bought an Olympus OMD EM-10 Mark ii. I was expecting to be very impressed, but I was disappointed in the image quality. A few test shots later, and it turned out that it was likely the package had been damaged in transit, as both the lenses included were badly out of alignment. Fortunately the dealer (Wex photographic) replaced the kit without question, and the second set of lenses were much, much better. The retro-styled camera body is a thing of beauty, particularly to somebody who grew up using a traditional manual film SLR – it has dials where you would expect them for aperture and shutter speed, and exposure compensation. However it also has useful features such as 5-axis image stabilisation, and touch screen point focusing. And it is very, very good for most things except wildlife and sports – the autofocus is good, but not good enough, taking too long to acquire the target when it is moving. As a handbag camera, though, it is streets ahead of anything I’ve had before. The lenses that came with the camera are pretty good too, although because I like backlit imagery, I found purple-fringing to be troublesome. They (Lumix 14-45 and Olympus 40-150 which on a half-frame camera have a combined equivalent of 28-300 in 35mm focal length) do however, perform admirably.

I have also recently acquired a secondhand OMD EM-1 body and some Pro lenses. Now this is a very good camera indeed. The autofocus is excellent and fast and good. The ability to easily switch the dials to control one or other function of the camera is also excellent – you can customise which dials do what. The 5-axis image stabilisation works very well indeed. The pro lenses (Olympus Pro 12-42 and 40-150 – both f2.8) are excellent bits of glass, and there is no purple fringing and admirable sharpness right out to the edge of the frame. They are both solid and weather-sealed, and have a lovely clutch mechanism to engage and disengage the autofocus for fine tuning. There is in particular something about black and white images from this combination that looks stunning. I am also impressed at the lack of noise at low ISO, given the small size of the sensor – better than a larger APS-C sensor camera that I own!

I had not intended to use the EM-1 camera for birds or wildlife, but I recently gave it a trial, and it exceeded expectations, giving sharp and crisp results, and catching the birds most of the time. A 60mm macro lens was also acquired secondhand at a good price (shabby outside, good inside), and again, I was really impressed with the results – sharp, good bokeh, and tiny compared to Canon’s offering. The 40-150 should also be a good dragonfly lens, as it focuses down to 70cm, and a teleconverter can be added to catch the dragonflies as they perch over the water.

The fact is that when I’m taking a walk around places now I usually take the Olympus. It has a permanent place in my handbag. It will not replace the big Canon. The tiny body, with the sensor close to the lens means even at f2.8, you don’t get the separation from the background that you can get with a bigger camera, particularly in Macro work. My big Canon bird lens (100-400 Mark II) is better for wildlife – no getting away from it. The autofocus is better on the Canon – faster, and more controllable. And there is something of the feel of a full-frame shot that really can’t be beaten.

However, the best camera is the one you have with you. If you don’t or can’t carry it, then you can’t take the photos. The mirrorless Olympus is impressive, and it is likely to be “the camera I have with me” quite a lot of the time.

Along the Canal - OMD EM-10 with Lumix 14-45.

Along the Canal – OMD EM-10 with Lumix 14-45.

Macro shot of Moss with OMD EM-10 and 60mm Macro lens

Macro shot of Moss with OMD EM-10 and 60mm Macro lens

Blue Tit on feeder - OMD EM-1 with 40-150 f2.8 Pro

Blue Tit on feeder – OMD EM-1 with 40-150 f2.8 Pro

Willow Herb Seed Head - OMD EM-1 with 60mm Macro

Willow Herb Seed Head – OMD EM-1 with 60mm Macro

Local pond on misty day - OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

Local pond on misty day – OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

Ray of Light on local ponds - OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

Ray of Light on local ponds – OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

The official and unofficial paths - OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

The official and unofficial paths – OMD EM-1 with 12-40 f2.8 Pro

Bright green grass in the evening sunlight - OMD EM-10 with Lumix 14.45.

Bright green grass in the evening sunlight – OMD EM-10 with Lumix 14.45.

11 thoughts on “Mirrorless

    • Thank you very much for your kind words Jeff. I find the smaller cameras so helpful. I have cystic fibrosis and my lung function is not so good, so it is important to me not to have to carry a massive weight of kit.

  1. Great shots – I especially liked the official and unofficial path and the willow seed head. I enjoyed your post. I have been wondering (no, make that torturing myself) about what camera/lens combination will be best for handheld flower or nature shots and whether weight or portability is most important. This certainly seems like another option (I have been wavering between Canon and Fuji). For now, I’m mainly using my iPhone, but I tried to take a willow head seed head with it today and was not wildly impressed!

    • I have to say that I am very impressed with the Olympus 60mm macro lens. The Canon macro lens is much bigger and heavier. The lighter weight makes hand holding flower shots easier. However, what I said about the separation of subject from background holds true – the ratio of subject to lens to sensor determines how good this is at any given f number. So you do get a better blurring of the background for the same f number with the Canon. Is it worth lugging it all around? I don’t know. I will see when I try it out with insects in the summer!

      • I hope you’ll find out it isn’t! One of my problems is holding the camera steady after I’m somewhere I’ve got excited about and have taken too many pictures. If I’m honest with myself, there’s no way I have the muscles for the Canon (but that’s the nearest I’ve come to admitting it). I suppose I could always try weightlifting! But I do crave the separation of subject to background you describe.

      • Just a quick note, I find that with macro the depth of field is so incredibly narrow that it is not a problem getting background separation. If anything, it is a struggle to get your subject entirely in focus.

      • Yes, I agree – getting most of the subject in focus is difficult, but a short lens to sensor distance tends to increase the background detail at any given aperture when compared to a longer lens to sensor distance which you get with full frame. It will be interesting to see the results in the summer!

  2. I have an Em-5. I’ve never owned an SLR. Just the size and weight throws me off. That being said I’m not a professional photographer- just an amateur who likes to make nice photos if she can. I’ve heard great things about the Em-1 but it is just way too expensive.

Leave a Reply

